Food · Travel

A vegan on holiday: Barcelona – Part One. Vegan at Gatwick Airport

.IMG_4225

Wiping the cobwebs off my keyboard and the virtual dust off Stylegreens blog as we’re back from our Barcelona holiday. As promised I visited many a place on a search for Spanish vegan delights.

But before I go into Barcelona, please subscribe to ensure you see all my recommendations including vegan ice cream in the heart of Barcelona, tapas and a burger shop on the beach.

I’ll start with our outward journey – London Gatwick Airport.

Comptoir Libanais

I stumbled upon a restaurant called Comptoir Libanais. Comptoir Libanais is a Lebanese and Middle Eastern restaurant in London and the UK.

‘Our menu has healthy & fresh Lebanese food with great vegan/vegetarian options.’

comptoir_store

Having never heard of Comptoir Libanais, you can imagine my happiness at seeing what looks like a deconstructed salad kebab on my plate at the airport.

At Gatwick Airport I had the Mezze Platter including Baba ghanuj, hommus, tabbouleh, falafel, freekeh salad, pickles & warm pita bread. Note I asked the waiter to hold the grilled halloumi, although not literally.

Other vegan items include Lebanese salads, falafel and wraps. The Comptoir Libanais website also has a vegan and allergy filter.

There is a restaurant at Gatwick and Heathrow airport, as well as many places in London and the UK including Bluewater.

IMG_3851

I recommend their range of fresh juices too, I had a fresh carrot and orange juice however the menu has many others and they’re freshly juiced.

This is just what I needed before a flight, although a trip to Barcelona is only an hour and 45 minutes, flying dehydrates the body and eating such a healthy meal and drinking something fresh will ensure your skin and insides are a lot happier with you.

Website here

Up next is the best vegan ice cream parlor in Barcelona…

Leave a Reply

