Health

Where do you want to be in 5 years time?

.camtemp

Left: 2012, Right: present 2017

Five years ago if someone told me I would be where I am today, I’d have laughed in their face, shrugged it off and gone for a large kebab. My only love was greasy food, preferably deep fried.

In 2012 (the left image, above) I ate due to boredom, had absolutely no idea of the amounts of crap I was consuming on a daily basis and was equally as unfit. In a rut, a job that completely uninspired me and ate a packet of biscuits on the daily.

Five years later and my outlook has changed, my love affair with food is eternal however the choices are somewhat different than what they were.

I read an article recently that mentioned it is possible to eat yourself happy, diets can significantly affect mental health.

I never thought I was overweight, despite my BMI saying so. I’m tall and I’ve always carried more weight because of that however feeling tired, unhappy, lazy and unfocused is a repercussion of a poor diet.

Being vegetarian or vegan doesn’t automatically make you healthy, I follow plenty of groups on Facebook that say otherwise, if you’re vegan and you don’t get unbelievably excited over vegan cake alternatives, chances are you’re a robot.

Being healthy is as much in the mind as it is on the plate. How do you feel after a McDonalds compared to how do you feel after a filling, healthy alternative?

In the five years since the photo on the left, I’ve discovered vegan food, the amazing fruits and vegetables available in every supermarket, how easy it is to cook from scratch and how affordable it is to cook fresh food. I’ve discovered being healthy internally promotes a healthy body and mind.

Since November 2016 I’ve also joined a gym, working out has never come easily to me and it takes determination especially after a working day however the euphoria is worth the dedication. The gym may be still a new notion for me, but watch this space.

Where will I be five years from now? I’m not so sure but I’ll be ten years away from that photo on the left and that’s a positive.

 

One thought on “Where do you want to be in 5 years time?

Leave a Reply

